Fashion and Textiles Rotation

For this project I decided to try screen printing for the first time. I wanted to experiment with different colours and layers and screen printing seemed the most suitable medium to do this. First I designed a simple image of zebra stripes on to a template to use for my prints, and soon got the hang of screen printing. I began to get more confident and experimented with colours and created second layers of print, and then went on to design a leopard print pattern. I mostly printed onto white paper to keep a simple background in contrast to the paint I used but also tried using black paper. I set up my own silkscreen board with my templates and chose my colour of paints that I would be using. I became more experimental with my colour choice and created my own technique to make multiple colour streaks in my prints. As these are only designs, in the future I may wish to experiment using screen printing to print onto a piece of fabric or textile. I went on to use the leopard print pattern in my 3D Design rotation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment